Thursday, June 16, 2011

Almost 2 months!

 It's been almost 2 months............................... since I blogged and I have so much to share (hahahahaha, gotcha didn't I?).  Jon is having a "guy's and Wii lunch" tomorrow so I am keeping myself out of the house for awhile and thinking that a trip to Starbucks with my laptop will be in order and hopefully I can do some update posts there.
But I wanted to get back into blogging with something easy so.......
Ive been reading this on some other blogs and here it goes!

A.  Age:  31

B.  Bed size:  Queen;  at the beginning of the night it feels too large and by 3 AM it's too small and I want to stretch out, in the middle of the bed and Jon seems to want to do the same!

C.  Chore I hate:  Mopping and dusting.  But fortunately I have a really great housekeeper named Hilda who does most of it.  I had to break out my own mop, a steam mop this morning when Sadie threw up. (thankfully on the tile in the kitchen and not in the carpet, yay! for small wins).

D.  Dog:  Yes, sweet Sadie.  She weighs 40 lbs and is ten or eleven years old and completely snuggly and cute.

E.  Essential start to my day:  Peace and quiet; I am a slow starter and I really don't want to talk to you that early.

F.  Favorite color:  Grey and dark, dark orange.

G.  Gold or silver:  Silver; but I have a fabulous gold Movado watch that I can't seem to match.

H.  Height:  I think I'm 5'5". But the lady who did my physical last year for life insurance said I was 5'6". Who knows?

I.  Instruments I play:  I used to play the oboe.  I can still kinda play piano.  I've also played the clarinet and Marimba.  They are all closely related.  I can't seem to play a guitar to save my life. 

J.  Job title:  RN- neurobehavioral   a.k.a. psychiatry; I switched jobs at the end of January and now work in a mostly geri psychiatric unit.  We mostly have patients with dementia, which isn't always interesting to me but every now and then....when the moon is in alignment with the stars.......we get a flood of "real psychiatric patients" like we have right now and then I get a familiar taste in my mouth of why I love psychiatry and feel like I am in my element again.  It's like an adrenaline rush and I feel so relaxed and at ease. 

K.  Kids:  Not yet but hoping to be ready to start trying sometime this year but I have a blood clotting disorder that makes me prone to miscarriages and automatically puts us in the high risk category and means that I will have to take injections of blood thinner medication (anticoagulants) twice a day throughout my pregnancy and possibly before to make the pregnancy "stick" so to speak.I already take these every time we travel and it's nothing new but....twice a day for 9 months is a little bit longer than I'm used to.  Because we use NFP my doctor is requesting that I go for a "pre-conceptual consult" to the high risk obstetricians soon just in case we should get a "surprise!" and because they like to plan before you plan.  Whew!  I say I want 3 kids but......we will see how the first one goes and go from there.  Not ready just yet......but having 2 of my best friends pregnant and being surrounded by all of these other pregnant women are definitely making me jealous, jealous, jealous.  It's a weird, difficult to describe feeling.

L.  Live:  Nashville TN

M.  Mom's name:  Pamela

N.  Nicknames:  Shug (from my brothers), Bratley (from Jon)

O.  Overnight hospital stay:  when I was 19 or 20 for 4 nights after I developed blood clots in my legs, a.k.a. DVTs.  This is when I found out I had the blood clotting disorder.

P.  Pet peeves: dirty dishes, irresponsibility, ignorance, people not using their 5 senses all at once, people who lack non verbal communication interpretation skills, slow drivers, bad pet owners, slow checkout lanes, my schedule/routine being turned around.

Q.  Quote from a movie:  "where we're going we don't need any roads."

R.  Righty or lefty: ambidextrous,  depends on the moment

S.  Siblings:  2 brothers, i have no sister skills in me and i'm okay with that

T.  Time I wake up:  If it's a work day then 5:30 a.m.; non work days are between 6:30-9 a.m.; yes I know that's a broad range but it varies

U.  Underwear:  Usually

V.  Vegetable you dislike:  any that are cooked to death and most peas

W.  What makes me run late:  Jon, Jon, Jon!

X.  X-rays:  recently just my teeth.  I had a few in my 4th semester of nursing school when I was in a car wreck and broke my wrist but not too many since then. 

Y.  Yummy food you make:  I love to cook and most of the things I make are pretty yummy.  I love to take a normal recipe and modify into a lower fat, higher nutritional content recipe.  One of my favorite things to do is to make something that tastes really yummy and also has a lot of goods nutrients in it.

Z.  Favorite zoo animal:  Errr, I don't know.....anteaters maybe.

That's it and now you know WAY too much about me!